2021 Elections

The Government confirmed the elections scheduled on May 6th this year will go ahead, with lockdowns now set to ease we are encouraging everyone to think about how they wish to vote.
  • You can vote at a polling station on the day as long as you have registered to vote by 19 April 
  • Postal Vote – you must be registered to vote by post in addition, the deadline for postal vote applications is 5pm, 11 working days before an election. Completed postal votes have to be received at Cornwall Council offices or a polling station by the close of poll on polling day.
  • You can appoint someone to vote on your behalf using a proxy vote, but these must be registered, the deadline for proxy applications is 5pm, six working days before an election.
What do these elections mean for the residents of Bude-Stratton?
Three areas will be covered in the election this year:
– Police & Crime Commissioner for Devon & Cornwall
– Cornwall Councillor for each division
– Bude-Stratton Town Councillors for each ward
Police & Crime Commissioner for Devon & Cornwall 
The website of the Police and Crime Commissioner for Devon and Cornwall contains all the information on the Police and Crime Commissioner position.
One candidate will be elected into the post.
To be a candidate for this election please contact Exeter City Council who will be leading these elections for the Devon and Cornwall Police area.
Cornwall Councillors

From the May 2021 Cornwall Council elections, there will be 87 Electoral Divisions in Cornwall, each division will elect one Cornwall councillor. Changes to the divisions for our area mean, one candidate will be elected to each of the following areas:

  • Bude
  • Stratton, Kilkhampton & Morwenstow (this includes Poughill, part of Flexbury, right up to the Devon border)
  • Poundstock (this includes Marchamchurch, Widemouth, Poundstock, Crackington, Week St Mary, Whitstone, Launcelles)
Information for those considering running as a Cornwall councillor can be found here.
Bude-Stratton Town Council 
As we approach the end of this Councils four year term, all 18 seats of the council will be open for election in May in the Bude-Stratton Parish. The ward boundaries have moved slightly to align with the Cornwall Council divisions and is now split into the following wards:
  • Bude- 11 Councillors
  • Stratton- 6 Councillors
  • Hele- 1 Councillor
If more than 18 candidates put their name forward to run as a councillor, an election in each ward will take place.
On election day you will vote for the candidates in your ward, the number of votes will depend on the number of seats in the ward you live in. For example if you live in Stratton there are 6 seats, therefore you will have 6 votes from the candidates that have put themselves forward for election.
Information for those considering running for as a town councillor can be found here and on our website.
To find out which ward you live in click on the map below and zoom in on your area.
✅ Make sure you are registered to vote by 19 April!